“OLD CUTLER” LIMITED CUSTOM SERIES 1/1983

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAColonial’s “Old Cutler” Limited Custom Series 1/1983 was a classic one of a kind series!
In 1983, Alphonse D. Paolantonio, owner and 1/3 stockholder
of the second generation started the ball rolling with this custom series. He worked with Marcell C. one of our smartest tool makers at the time and with my contacts, we all contributed to the “Old Cutler” Custom Series…
Marcell was responsible for creating the tools to cut the workback springs and blades that came to be known as “The Cascade Patern”. He also designed the tool work involved in shaping and fitting the handle material called “African Ikki”
wood. It claimed to be four times harder than Oak and lived up to it’s reputation!!
My part of this design was to include Hand Engraved Nickel Silver Bolster’s, made by Mr. Clint Orms from Texas.
I also personaly worked with our etching people and we came up with a chemical solution to give the blade etching a gold appearance.
The assembly and finishing work was done by Tommy B., Tony G, Americo, and myself. These were the old timers that were hired by my grandpa Fred and they were also the men that taught me how to make and finish knives, and made me a cutler!!
The series was produced once and only 300 were made. Each knife was hand engraved with it’s production number, 1 – 300,
and was etched on the #1 bolster on each knife.
They came in a gift box with a numbered Certificate of authenticity.
They were all sold and because of all my work with this project, I was presented with #1, and my brother Dave has #2….Decided by Al D. himself!!
Some of these gems are showing up on line and are going for
$ 100.00 each…This was some of my proudest work!!
Bobby P. CKCo., RAP Cutler, Heritage Cutler’s..

One thought on ““OLD CUTLER” LIMITED CUSTOM SERIES 1/1983

  1. I have an Old Cutler #530,3 blade stockman with a black delrin cover on 1 side, and a clear delrin cover on the other. Can anybody explain why ?

Leave a comment